“Symmetry”

Last night I had a dream,
yet another reality
that my mind chose to visit on its own…

In this reality, my mother and father
were seated in a room…
a blank room with no color
and barely a spread of light
and so they appeared as dark
lifeless figures in my dream…

I appeared in an instant, seemingly
out of nowhere, in front of them,
standing. I turned to my
mother and looked her square
in the eye and said one word:
“Selfish”.

At that moment, her eyes glazed
over -dark, hard and hurt-
and though the features of
her face never changed
the features of mine changed
to match the eyes that she looked out through.

I turned and left that dark
lifeless room …and I woke up.
And so I was left with myself
and that one word ringing
in my head –
“Selfish”
“Selfish”
“Selfish”

Published by: J. A. Jeanty

J. A. Jeanty hails from the East Coast, Pennsylvania, City of Brotherly Love. From that point, her life takes place inside a series of cities, towns and countries. Currently residing in Michigan, Jeanty writes articles, short stories, poetry and self-help ebooks. Previous works include: - The Wheels of the Bus – short story - “Runaway Voices” – short story - The Poetry of Courage - poems - “Mindless Travels” – short story - “Unfolding” – novel in progress

Categories Essays on CourageLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

